Life Talk

How to be Beautiful Like Audrey Hepburn

For beautiful eyes, look for the good in others; for beautiful lips, speak only words of kindness; and for poise, walk with the knowledge that you are never alone.

 Audrey Hepburn
Audrey Hepburn was, in my opinion, the classiest women of the 20th century. She had a certain air about her. You can see it in her films and in the behind-the-scenes. She was the woman I aspire to be—full of wisdom and elegance.

My sentiments aside, I’d like to review her quote above. I beleive it is the secret to her beauty.

 

For beautiful eyes, look for the good in others…

Eyes, as they say, are the window to the soul.

There are people who use contacts to change the color of their eyes. There are others who cake on large amounts of makeup to hide their true feelings.

What about the one who puts on just the right amount of makeup to make her look beautiful? To bring out her eyes with a splash of color and mascara.

For beautiful eyes, we feel that we have to do something.

But think about it. Imagine the expression on your face when you see your little one walk for the first time. Or if you see your bride walking down the aisle toward you. Imagine really seeing the good in someone. Your eyes get bright. A tear of appreciation or love in your eyes.

Now, that is beautiful.

 

For beautiful lips, speak only words of kindness

Speaking comes naturally especially when we are angry or feeling hurt. When emotions are raging and everything is heightened. The possibility for words of anger are endless.

Recently I woke up at 1:30am having a mild asthma attack. I got my inhaler and took a few deep breaths. I went to lay back down, but I just could not get a steady breath. I went to the livingroom where the pillows are bigger and I could sit up to sleep. Family guy was on the TV so I turned the display light down.

A few minutes later I turned over to go to sleep.

That’s when I heard Young Jedi crying from his room. I wanted to scream and cry at the same time. I was so exhausted. Once I brought him out to the living room with me, he wasn’t ready to go back to sleep.

He wanted to play and look around. I almost lost my mind.

Kindness. Words of kindness make for beautiful lips. My mind travels to the times I’ve been encouraged by words of love and kindness. The times my friends have gone out of their way to make my day better.

That is beautiful. Beautiful lips.

 

…and for poise, walk with the knowledge that you are never alone.

They say that your loved ones who have passed on are always with you. I believe this beyond a shadow of a doubt.

I believe that their spirit lives on with us. Guiding us toward our destiny. I believe in greater forces that inspire us to live better than we were yesterday.

Whether that force is your children or your family, they kindle the desire to become the people we are meant to be.

Let your head stand tall knowing that you are not alone in your endeavors.

Leave a Reply

