Literature

A Tribute to Robert Frost

“A poem begins as a lump in the throat, a sense of wrong, a homesickness, a love-sickness.”

When I consider the people who have impacted my life, there are only a few who come to mind. Throughout my teen years, I spent most of my time with my nose buried in a book. I took American Literature in tenth grade. That was a dark time in my life. I was depressed and suicidal. Robert Frost’s writing found me during this time. His writing changed the course of my life.  His writing showed me that life is a journey worth taking, love is a beautiful thing, and nature is something to be seen and felt. This is how Robert Frost changed my life.

Robert Frost’s writing showed me that life is a journey worth taking. My life didn’t seem worth living in high school. I was a loner, reading stories about lives I wished were mine. I was depressed and suicidal. I thought that high school was life! I’m sure you remember what it was like. It felt like those four years was all that mattered. Looking back, I wish I could slap myself and tell me that there is so much more to life than what was happening then.

“In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.”

Say what! If I had only realized at the time what this truly means. Then, it got me through each day. Hoping for life to go on. For high school to just be over. To have the freedom I so craved.

“How many things would you attempt if you knew you could not fail.”

I would have done so much more with my life during this time. I would have written more. I would have studied harder. I would have taught myself more! Sometimes I wonder if I could go back, would I do it the same? I will never know. I was an overachiever throughout my teen years and spent a lot of time alone. To this day, I still love to be by myself.

I didn’t have many friends in high school and love his quote:

“Never be bullied into silence. Never allow yourself to be made a victim. Accept no one’s definition of your life; define yourself.”

This quote showed me that I needed to stop feeling like a victim in my circumstances. I needed to stop feeling like my life surroundings determined the kind of person I would end up being.  These are the things that made life worth living.

His writing didn’t just show me that life is worth living, it proved that love is also worth living for. Robert Frost showed me that love is a beautiful thing. Teenagers have such a misconstrued idea of what love is. They have a misconstrued idea of what love feels like.  I was no different than any other teen. I craved the attention of people. I craved to be told I was beautiful, yet didn’t believe the ones that said it and meant it.

“Love is the irresistible desire to be irresistibly desired.”

That quote in and of itself is the purest definition of love I could have heard as a teen. I had such a desire to be loved. This quote has become the very core of my idea of love that I have it engraved inside my wedding band.

“We love the things we love for what they are.”

This quote above showed me that I cannot fully love someone for what they can do for me. I learned that love is a strong desire and the purest emotion. I take this kind of pure love into my marriage in hopes that no matter what comes our way, we will stay true to each other for who the other person is.

In addition to improving my outlook on life and love, Robert Frost changed my view on nature as well. Robert Frost’s writing showed me that nature is something to be seen and felt. I had been on nature hikes with my family and school as a child. Nothing seen could have prepared me for the feelings I felt when I read Robert Frost’s depiction of nature. His poem, Dust of Snow, reads,

“The way a crow shook down on me the dust of snow from a hemlock tree has given my heart a change of mood and saved some part of a day I had rued.”

The feeling of this poem is amazing. He had such a way with words that it is impossible to read it without seeing and feeling it.

“Nature’s first green is gold, Her hardest hue to hold, Her early leaf’s a flower; But only so an hour. Then leaf subsides to leaf. So Eden sank to grief, so dawn goes down to day. Nothing gold can stay.”

I can see the words turn into pictures in my head. Seeing the seasons changing so quickly. It’s beautiful! My idea of nature has changed so drastically since reading Robert Frost. His poetry has shown my so much more than my eyes could see.

I’m sure you’ve read something that touched you deeply. Or maybe even changed your life the way Robert Frost did to me. He changed the way I viewed life, love and nature. I found that life is a journey, love is beautiful, and nature may be felt. I will never forget the impact Robert Frost’s writing had on my life. So much so that I have a part of his famous poem, The Road Less Traveled, tattooed on my arm. It is a constant reminder that taking the road less traveled has truly made the difference in the person I am today.

 

Is there an author or blogger who has made a difference in your life? Feel free to share in the comments.

 

Leave a Reply

